Barber Osgerby win London Design Festival Award

Barber Osgerby win London Design Festival Award

200 of the Capital's biggest design names gathered at Canada House last night to celebrate the four winners of the 2015 British Land Celebration of Design Awards. This year's panel of 15 judges included David Adjaye (Principal, Adjaye Associates), Raoul Shah (Founder, Exposure), and Justine Simons (Head of Culture at the Mayor’s Office) who were tasked with the difficult prospect of selecting the designers making a difference to our lives through their innovation, originality and imagination.

The highest accolade bestowed upon a designer who has consistently distinguished themselves within the industry, the Panerai London Design Medal, was awarded to British designers Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby.

Production designer Ken Adam, well-known for his design work on the James Bond films, was the distinguished recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Medal.

Marjan van Aubel, a designer whose practice spans the fields of science and chemistry, nabbed the Swarovski Emerging Talent Medal for her impact on the design scene within five years of graduation.

Honouring an entrepreneur who has built up a business with design at its heart, Peter Brewin and Will Crawford, co-founders of Concrete Canvas Ltd are this year's winners of the PCH Design Innovation Medal.

A selection of the work of the four award winners is on display in the British Land Celebration of Design Awards exhibition at Somerset House until 27 September.