National Open Art Competition Shortlist Revealed

National Open Art Competition Shortlist Revealed

Greig Gilbert, Boscombe Biro Minature. Image courtesy of the artist.

The highly anticipated shortlist for the 17th National Open Art Exhibition has now been revealed! The award received its highest number of entries on record this year, of which just 100 works were selected for inclusion in the final exhibition. For the first time, the 2013 shortlisted artists will be showcased at the prestigious Royal College of Art, London 25th October – 7th November before the exhibition continues at Pallant House, Chichester in December. Sponsored by the Wealth Adviser Towry, the prizes total a staggering £55,000 and the winners will be announced at an exclusive ceremony on October 24th. The distinguished judging panel responsible for this year’s selection includes Brian Sewell, art writer and critic for the Evening Standard, Barbara Rae, Scottish Painter, Michael Hoppen, Gallerist, James Green, Assistant Director of Stephen Friedman Gallery, and David Middleton from Towry.

The National Open Art Competition pride themselves on being a registered charity whose aim is to: “provide a truly open and fair platform for all UK artists to exhibit, sell and promote their work through the medium of an annual National competition with exhibitions in London, Chichester and other venues around the UK.”

Selected Artists
Thomas Allen, Gawain Barnard, Rosalind Bates, Rogan Brown, Kara Chin, Matthew Draper, Nathan Ford, Greig Gilbert, Cara Gordon, Ian Hodgson, Donna McLean, Julia Polonski, Joe Liam Reddy, Lindsay Robertson, Milos & Slavica, Nikolas Strangelove, Iva Troj, Michael Vogt, Simon Watkins, Graeme Wilcox and Gina Soden.

More Information